Baseball / 2020 Playoff Update

2020 Playoff Update

Date:  Source: Florida Collegiate Summer League

LONGWOOD, Florida - Due to affects from the ongoing coronavirus pandemic and modified college report dates, the Florida Collegiate Summer League will be changing the Playoff format scheduled for next week. The 2020 Playoffs will now start on Monday, August 3rd and run through Saturday, August 8th.


This new format will now include a total of six teams instead of five with the top two seeds receiving an automatic bye into the second round. The teams who do not qualify for the 2020 Playoffs will continue to play in a round robin pool from August 3rd through August 5th. The Diamond Dawgs and Scorpions will not participate in the playoffs and their final games will be Saturday, August 1st. 


On Monday, August 3rd, the Playoffs will start with the 3rd seed hosting the 6th seed, and the 4th seed hosting the 5th seed. On August 4th, the winner of 4th and 5th will play the 1st seed, while the winner of the 3rd and 6th will play the 2nd seed. The two semi-final winners will proceed to play each other in the 2020 FCSL Championship Series that will begin on Thursday, August 6th after a day off on August 5th. The best-of-three series will conclude on Friday, August 7th in a potential doubleheader if the series is split after the conclusion of Game 2. Saturday August 8th would be a rain date if necessary.


Teams who are eliminated in the first two rounds of the Playoffs will also continue to play throughout the remainder of the week, with the 3rd Place game taking place on August 5th.


All 2020 Playoff games will be streamed live on FloSports, as will most, if not all, of the consolation games. The locations and game times will be announced at a later date once seeding has been finalized. We will also be posting live updates on the Florida League and individual team social media accounts throughout the duration of the Postseason. You can view the complete Postseason schedule below.