Date:  Source: Ontario Junior A Hockey League

This week the Ontario Hockey Association (OHA) has been announcing the recipients of the 2018-19 OHA Awards and today the OHA announced that the recipient of the 2018-19 B.J. Monro Memorial Award is Eric Ciccolini of the Toronto Jr. Canadiens from the Ontario Junior Hockey League (OJHL). (Photo: Ray MacAloney/OJHL Images)

B.J. MONRO MEMORIAL AWARD – Eric Ciccolini, Toronto Jr. Canadiens (OJHL)

Eric Ciccolini (Vaughan, Ont.) has played in the OJHL for two seasons and recently completed his first full season with the Toronto Jr. Canadiens. He is the highest-ranked OHA player for the 2019 NHL Entry Draft. Ciccolini was ranked 108th among North American Skaters in NHL Central Scouting’s Final Rankings.

The 6’0” 170 pound right winger scored 62 points in 2018-19 with the Jr. Canadiens. He ranked ninth in OJHL scoring and of his 62 points, Ciccolini scored 27 goals and added 35 helpers. Each of his totals were personal bests in the OJHL for the 18-year-old forward. In 2017-18, Ciccolini had 30 points in 47 games in a season he split with the Milton Icehawks and Jr. Canadiens. This season’s total more than doubles his previous point total.

Ciccolini added five points in Toronto’s five-game playoff run in the 2018-19 postseason. He and the Jr. Canadiens were ousted by the North York Rangers in five games in round one of the OJHL Buckland Cup playoffs.

NHL Central Scouting described Ciccolini as a player with a “high-end skill set, good offensive hockey sense” and a player who can see the ice at top speed and is a dynamic offensive threat.

In addition to playing for the Jr. Canadiens, Ciccoline suited up for Canada East at the 2018 World Junior A Challenge in Bonnyville, Alta. Ciccolini also participated in the Canadian Junior Hockey League’s (CJHL) Top Prospects game as a member of Team East in January.

Ciccolini, who turned 18 in January, was voted the OJHL’s Top Prospect by a panel of league general managers and media representatives; and was named an OJHL 2nd Team All-Star at season’s end.

Ciccolini has also committed to the University of Michigan (NCAA Division 1 - Big Ten) for the 2020-21 season. He is following a similar path to that of former OJHL players Mike Cammalleri (Bramalea), Andrew Cogliano (St. Michael’s) and Phil Di Giuseppe (Villanova) took – from the OJHL to the NCAA and eventually the NHL.

Ciccolini and other draft hopefuls will hope to have their names called at the 2019 NHL Entry Draft at Rogers Arena in Vancouver June 21-22.

Recipients of the B.J. Monro Memorial Award:

2017-18 Jack McBain, Toronto Jr. Canadiens

2016-17 Nick Campoli, North York Rangers

2015-16 Matthew Cairns, Georgetown Raiders

2014-15 William Reilly, North York Rangers

2013-14 Jake Walman, Toronto Jr. Canadiens

2012-13 Matt Buckles, St. Michaels Buzzers

2011-12 Devin Shore, Whitby Fury

2010-11 Zach Hyman, Hamilton Red Wings

2009-10 Julian Melchiori, Newmarket Hurricanes

2008-09 Brandon Pirri, Georgetown Raiders

2007-08 Corey Trivino, Stouffville Spirit

2006-07 Scott Freeman, Bowmanville Eagles

2005-06 Thomas Battani, Petrolia Jets

2004-05 Zack Torquato, Stratford Cullitons

2003-04 Justin Azevedo, Chatham Maroons

2002-03 Victor Oreskovich, Milton Ice Hawks

2001-02 Wes O’Neill, Chatham Maroons

2000-01 Nathan Horton, Thorold Blackhawks

1999-00 Justin McCutcheon, Brampton Capitals

1998-99 Mike Cammalleri, Bramalea Blues

1997-98 Jay Harrison, Oshawa Legionnaires

1996-97 Preston Mizzi, Newmarket 87’s

1995-96 Kip Brennan, St. Michael’s Buzzers

Congratulations to Eric Ciccolini on being named the 2018-19 recipient of the OHA’s BJ Monro Memorial Award. OHA Awards winners will be announced this week, and next; and recipients will formally receive their awards at an OHA Awards Luncheon at the OHA Annual General Meeting held at the Cambridge-Kitchener Holiday Inn Convention Centre in Kitchener Sat. June 15, 2019.

Monday (May 13) - Officials Awards

Tuesday (May 14) - Coach of the Year & Trainer of the Year awards

Wednesday (May 15) - BJ Monro Award

Thursday (May 16) - OHA Top Prospects

Friday (May 17) - Donald Sanderson Memorial Award