Baseball / 2018 BCPBL Championship Sunday Recap

2018 BCPBL Championship Sunday Recap

Date:  Source: BC Premier Baseball League


The 2018 Premier Baseball season ended at Elks Stadium on Sunday when the Abbotsford Cardinals were crowned Provincial Champions—their second in three years.

Game 7   Langley Blaze 5     Okanagan Athletics 4  (8 innings)

The semi-final was a close, hard-fought game between the host Okanagan A’s and the Langley Blaze. 

A’s starter Ethan Huizinga kept the Langley bats quiet with off speed and curve balls allowing only 4 singles through the first five innings.  A’s catcher Marcus Strother (Game MVP) threw two Langley runners out and chipped in with a solo HR and an RBI single.  A’s DH Alex Wright also had a solo HR. 

In the bottom of the 6th Blaze leadoff hitter Jared Crossley was HP, Tate Dearing with a single, Holden Cumiskey BB and Josh Marchese Grand Slam tied the game at 4 runs each.  Blaze reliever Ryan Scott retired the 7 batters he faced (2 K) in the 7th and 8th innings.

Jared Crossley led off the bottom of the 8th with a single for the Blaze, followed by a Daniel Martin BB and a walk off RBI single by Holden Cumiskey sent the Blaze to the Championship Final.


Game 8   Langley Blaze 5    Abbotsford Cardinals 3

Using the momentum of the previous game, Blaze scored 2 runs in each of the first two innings against Abbotsford Cardinals starter Travis McDougall  ( 1.1 IP 12 AB  4 R, 3 H, 2 K, 4 BB) who was relieved by Sasha Kamenjasevic  (5.2 IP 1 R, 5 H, 4 K 2 BB). 

Josh Marchese 2 RBI, Jayden Knight, Tate Dearing, Justin Thorsteinson RBI.

Blaze starter Jacob McDermott (2 IP, 10 AB, 2 R 1 H, 3 BB) was relieved by Sean Sasaki (4 IP, 18 AB 6 H) who kept the Abbotsford bats quiet.  Blaze Ryan Scott picked up the save allowing a Solo HR to the Cardinals Dylan Ohlsen.

The Blaze victory forced an extra game to determine the 2018 PBL Champions.


Game 9   Abbotsford Cardinals 15    Langley Blaze 3 (5 innings)

The Cardinals bats came alive pounding out 13 hits on the way to the 2018 Championship, scoring 7 runs in the 1st inning and 5 runs in the 4th inning. 

Catcher Kayden Beauregard (Game MVP) led the way 2 / 3 3 RBI, 3 Runs   Kayden Cardoso 3 / 3    2 RBI Steal of Home, Jayson Smith 2 / 4   2 RBI,  Taisei Yahiro 2 RBI. 

Carlin Dick went the distance for the win (5 H, 3 R) and was helped in the 3rd with a great running catch by CF Taisei Yahiro and an unassisted double play by 2B Shea Wutke. 

Josh Marchese had a 2 run single for the Blaze in the 3rd inning.


The PBL would like to thank the Okanagan Athletics for hosting this years’ Championship.  The 2019 Championship will be hosted by the UBC Thunder.