Baseball / 2018 VBL All-Star Teams Announced

2018 VBL All-Star Teams Announced

Date:  Source: Valley League Baseball

Photo Credit: Haymarket Joe Photography

Rosters have been announced for the 2018 Valley Baseball League All-Star Game, which will feature the best players from the North and South Divisions this season.

The 2018 Valley League All-Star Game will be held on Sunday, July 8 at James Madison University’s Veterans Memorial Park.

The Valley League will also be taking a traveling all-star team made up of some of the league’s top-rated prospects to the Southern Collegiate Showcase at Wingate University on July 16-17. That roster will be announced this week.

The North squad is comprised of players from Front Royal, New Market, Purcellville, Strasburg, Winchester and Woodstock. The South squad consists of athletes from Charlottesville, Covington, Harrisonburg, Staunton and Waynesboro. Each squad includes 25 players.

The North team will be managed by Front Royal’s Zeke Mitchem and the South by Covington’s Alex Kotheimer. Managers of the rosters were determined by the highest teams in the standings at the conclusion of games through Sunday, July 1.

Batting practice and autograph/photo sessions for young fans will take place from 3:10-4:45 p.m. The 60 yard dash contest will be held at 4:50 p.m. and the Home Run Derby is at 5:20 p.m. Player introductions will be at 7:15 p.m. with first pitch set for 7:30 p.m.

The evening will also feature the third class of the Valley Baseball League Hall of Fame, which will be introduced at 7:00 p.m. This year’s inductees will be announced later this week prior to All-Star weekend.

RHP: #29 Jacob Bradley, Woodstock, Marshall University
RHP: #27 Trevin Eubanks, New Market, University of Southern Mississippi
LHP: #5 Kobe Foster, Front Royal, Motlow State CC
RHP #13 Rob Griswold, Front Royal, Long Island University
LHP: #26 Chris Henry, Strasburg, St. John’s University
LHP: #11 Dalton Oates, Purcellville, Shippensburg University
LHP: #24 Jared Shemper, New Market, Wallace CC
RHP: #18 Trent Sidwell, Winchester, Illinois-Springfield
RHP: #30 Anthony Zimmerman, Purcellville, Fordham University
C: #14 Christian Avant, Front Royal, Georgia Southern University
C: #32 Riley Wash, New Market, St. John’s River CC
1B: #15 Andrew Burden, Front Royal, Piedmont College
1B: #21 Samyr Santos, Winchester, Shorter University
2B: #9 Kobe Lopez, New Market, Florida International University
2B: #6 Masen Prososki, Winchester, Louisiana- Monroe
SS: #7 Alex Briggs, Front Royal, Long Island University
SS: #10 Austin Thompson, Strasburg, Georgia Southern University
3B: #17 Christian Garabedian, Purcellville, St. Thomas University
3B: #16 Anthony Pecora, Strasburg, Wagner College
OF: #25 Andrew Eyster, New Market, South Carolina- Columbia
OF: #3 Justin Hayes, Strasburg, Norfolk State
OF: #8 Clayton Jeffries, Woodstock, Lenoir-Rhyne University
OF: #2 Kenny Oyama, Purcellville, Loyola Marymount University
OF: #12 Aaron Palensky, Winchester, Southeast Nebraska CC
OF: #19 Conner Wilson, Woodstock, University of Dayton

Head Coach: Zeke Mitchem

RHP: #21 Kyle Arjona, Harrisonburg, University of New Orleans
LHP: #26 Jeremy Cook, Staunton, University of Miami
RHP: #10 Chad Cooperman, Staunton, Bloomsburg University
RHP: #32 Jordyn Eglite, Covington, San Francisco State
LHP: #9 Cody Maw, Charlottesville, Charleston Southern University
RHP: #20 Nick Parr, Waynesboro, Oakland University
RHP: #29 Rafe Schindler, Harrisonburg, University of New Orleans
RHP: #25 Derek Tremblay, Covington, Virginia Military Institute
LHP: #7 Jared Wetherbee, Charlottesville, Elon University
C: #28 Alex Brait, Waynesboro, Florida Gulf Coast University
C: #23 William Simoneit, Staunton, Cornell University
1B: #31 Patrick McColl, Charlottesville, Harvard University
1B: #24 JD Mundy, Covington, Virginia Tech
2B: #8 Austin Embler, Harrisonburg, North Carolina- Greensboro
2B: #11 Eric Jones, Covington, Gardner-Webb University
SS: #13 Zac Ching, Charlottesville, Virginia Commonwealth University
SS: #12 Bennett Hostetler, Covington, North Dakota State
3B: #6 Dominic D'Alessandro, Charlottesville, George Washington University
3B: #16 Trey Jacobs, Staunton, North Carolina- Pembroke
OF: #14 Chase Cheek, Waynesboro, Duke University
OF: #17 Eric Conner, Staunton, Walsh University
OF: #5 Ryan Fitzgerald, Covington, Oakland University
OF: #15 Zach Little, Harrisonburg, Wingate University
OF: #19 Cole Swiger, Staunton, Bloomsburg University
OF: #18 Dalton Wingo, Waynesboro, University of Central Florida
x - Kaven Brown, Covington, Eastern Kentucky University

Head Coach: Alex Kotheimer

#15 Andrew Burden, Front Royal, Piedmont College
#22 Adan Fernandez, New Market, Florida International University
#24 JD Mundy, Covington, Virginia Tech
#33 Chris Salvey, Winchester, Lincoln Memorial University
#19 Cole Swiger, Staunton, Bloomsburg University
#28 Troy Weatherly, Purcellville, Motlow State CC
#30 Brett Willett, Staunton, Virginia Commonwealth University