Hockey / MASL Championship Preview

MASL Championship Preview

Date:  Source: Major Arena Soccer League

Game 1: Baltimore 7 Sonora 4

Game 2: Friday, April 15 11:00p.m. EST @ Centro de Usos (Sonora, Mexico)

Game 3: Mini Game (If Necessary): Friday, April 15 @ Centro de Usos (Sonora, Mexico)


Setting the Tone:

Baltimore Blast: Finished the regular season 15-4 and are the number 1 seed in the Eastern Division. Defeated the Syracuse Silver Knights in Eastern Division Final and the Missouri Comets in the Eastern Conference Final.

Soles De Sonora: Finished the regular season 17-3 as the number 1 seed in the Pacific Division. Defeated the San Diego Sockers in the Pacific Division Final and the Las Vegas Legends in the Western Conference Final.


Baltimore Post Season Leaders:
Pat Healey, who was recently named MASL Defender of the Year, leads the best defense in the league which has allowed only 18 goals so far this postseason. Offensively, Lucas Roque leads the Blast in the postseason with 5 goals including one in double overtime of the Eastern Conference Finals to send the Blast to the championship. Tony Donatelli leads the Blast in assists this postseason with 7 while also adding 2 goals.

William Vanzela, who was recently named second team all MASL, leads all goalies in postseason GAA (3.29) and save percentage (.775) as he did throughout the regular season.


Baltimore Team Leaders (Playoffs):
Points:                             Goals:                             Assists:                             Blocks:
Tony Donatelli-9                 Lucas Roque-5                 Tony Donatelli-7                  Pat Healey- 9
Pat Healey-7                     Pat Healey-3                     Pat Healey-4                      Kaoru Forbess- 7
Lucas Roque- 7                 Levi Houapeu-3                 Andrew Hoxie-3                  Adriano Dos Santos-5
Andrew Hoxie- 4                Jonatas Melo-3                 3 Players Tied With-2          Onua Obasi-4


Baltimore Blast 2015-2016 Honors:
Pat Healey- MASL Defender of the Year William Vanzela- 2nd Team All MASL
Tony Donatelli- Honorable Mention All MASL
Onua Obasi- Honorable Mention All MASL

Baltimore Regular Season League Leaders:
William Vanzela leads the MASL in GAA. (2.95) William Vanzela leads the MASL in save percentage. (.791)
Pat Healey (43) tied for the league lead in blocks.
Tony Donatelli (17) and Pat Healey (17) are tied for 11th in assists.
Tony Donatelli (31) ranks 19th in points.
Vini Dantas (20) ranks 24th in goals.


Baltimore Team Leaders (Regular Season):
Points:                             Goals:                             Assists:                            Blocks:    
Tony Donatelli-34               Vini Dantas- 20                 Pat Healey- 17                   Pat Healey- 43
Vini Dantas-30                   Lucas Roque- 19              Tony Donatelli-17                Kaoru Forbess- 19
Lucas Roque- 26                Tony Donatelli-17              Vini Dantas-10                   Adriano Dos Santos-17
Pat Healey- 23                   Andrew Hoxie-15              Jinho Kim-9                       Donatelli/Periera-7


The Competition- Soles De Sonora:
The high powered Sonora offense enters averaging 8.2 goals a game so far this postseason. The Blast defense will look to shut down MASL MVP, Franck Tayou, who leads Sonora with 13 goals so far this postseason. Aljandro Leyva and Damian Garcia round out the Sonora offense as both players ended the regular season ranked top 25 in points. In goal for Sonora the Blast will face a familiar opponent in Diego Reynoso. He was a member of the Monterrey Flash last season and enters his second MASL Championship series with a GAA of 7.96. Soles De Sonora are coached by Jamie Luis Borrego.


Sonora Team Leaders (Playoffs):

Points:                             Goals:                             Assists:                            Blocks:
Daniel Lopez-13                 Franck Tayou-13              Daniel Lopez-3                   Roberto Escalante-7
Franck Tayou-13                Daniel Lopez-10               Gustavo Rosales- 3            Damian Garcia-6
Enrique Canez-8                Enrique Canez-6               Damian Garcia-3                Antonio Garcia-5
Garcia/Rosales-7               3 Player Tied With-4          6 Players Tied With- 2        Raymundo/Tayou-4


Soles De Sonora 2015-2016 Honors:
Franck Tayou- MASL MVP
Alejandro Leyva- MASL Rookie of the Year
Damian Garcia- First Team All MASL


Sonora Team Leaders (Regular Season):
Points:                             Goals:                             Assists:                             Blocks:
Franck Tayou-62                Franck Tayou-47               Franck Tayou- 15                Antonio Garcia- 14
Alejandro Leyva-35            Alejandro Leyva- 30           Damian Garcia-13               Contreras Raymundo-11
Damian Garcia- 35             Damian Garcia-22             Daniel Lopez-12                  Damian Garcia-10
Daniel Lopez- 29                Christian Segura-19          Diego Reynoso-11                2 Player Tied With- 9


International Competition
While the Blast are facing off against an international team in the Championship series for the second consecutive season, the team is no stranger to traveling outside of the United States. The Blast enter with a record of 42-14 against international opponents which include Montreal, Toronto, Edmonton, Monterrey, and now Sonora.

How to Watch: Go Live Sports Cast & Roku - WATCH LIVE MASL Championship Game 2 (Mini-Game if needed)